Last Updated on May 11, 2022

Nevada enacted legislation, Assembly Bill 256 (AB 256), in 2021 providing Medicaid coverage of doula services.

On June 9, 2021, Nevada’s governor Steve Sisolak signed AB 256 into law requiring coverage of doula services provided to Medicaid recipients. The bill was proposed in response to reduce maternal mortality and address broader public health needs.

The legislation defines doula services as “services to provide education and support relating to childbirth, including, without limitation, emotional and physical support provided during pregnancy, labor, and birth and the postpartum period,” but the Medicaid Services Manual includes provides more clarification on which services are covered and which are not. Reimbursement is provided for up to four total prenatal/postpartum visits and one visit for labor and delivery.

A doula must be registered (“enrolled”) with the Division of Health Care Financing and Policy to be reimbursed. A doula must submit an enrollment checklist and payment of $75 for initial certification or $50 for renewal.

Nevada Certification Board Materials:

Key Links

The information presented on these pages is for informational purposes only. Links to official documentation and information is provided where and when possible. Please consult local government authorities for current and accurate information.

Last Updated on May 11, 2022